VIII International Stasys Vainiūnas Competition for Chamber Ensembles.

VIII International Stasys Vainiūnas Competition for Chamber Ensembles.

Participant data

Name of the educational insititution Norwegian Academy of Music, Oslo

Ensemble members

Stepan Frolov Russia Violin
Alexandre Guy France Violin
Kai-Hsun Lin Taiwan Viola
Johannes Borchgrevink Norway Violoncello
Marina Kan Norway Piano

"The Meteorôs Quintet" is a recently established chamber music ensemble based in Oslo, performing both as a piano quintet and a string quartet. The group consists of five master students from the Norwegian Academy of Music: Stepan Frolov (violin, Russia), Alexandr Guy (violin, France), Kai-Hsun Lin (viola, Taiwan), Johannes Borchgrevink (cello, Norway) ir Marina Kan (piano, Norway). The ensemble made their debut in 2016 whereas in 2017 they already won the first prize at the Academy's annual Chamber Music competition for master students. The group was then invited to perform at the Oslo Edward Grieg Festival. "The Meteorôs Quintet" receives regular lessons from Are Sandbakken, an appointed professor in chamber music at the Norwegian Academy of Music and a member of Oslo String Quartet.



  1. Antonin Dvořák | Piano Quintet No. 2 · A major · Op. 81
  2. Dmitri Shostakovich | Piano Quintet · G minor · Op. 57