International Stasys Vainiūnas Competition for pianists

International Stasys Vainiūnas Competition for pianists

Edgars Tomševics, Latvia

Participant data

Name of the educational insititution Jāzepa Vīola Latvijas Mūzikas akadēmija , Rīga
Teacher Sergejs Osokins

In 2012 Edgars Tomševics (1988) graduated from Jāzeps Vītols Latvian Academy of Music after studies with professor Sergej Osokins. He is a prizewinner of several national and international competitions, and has appeared with the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra. The pianist has participated in masterclasses led by distinguished artists such as Arnis Zandmanis, Mikhail Voskresensky, Aleksei Lubimov, and Ronan O’Hora. Currently Edgars is heading the Electronic Music Department and teaching piano at the Augusts Dombrovskis Music School in Riga.

I round program

  1. Johann Sebastian Bach | English Suite No. 2 · A minor BWV 807
  2. Sergei Prokofiev | Piano Sonata No. 1 · F minor Op. 1
  3. Stasys Vainiūnas | "Fields Of Home" · Blooming Lily Of The Valley Op. 31

II round program

  1. Stasys Vainiūnas | Ballad · D minor Op. 30
  2. Claude Debussy | "Suite Bergamasque" · "Clair de lune"
  3. Claude Debussy | "Valse romantique" · L. 79
  4. Claude Debussy | Études · "Pour les degrés chromatiques" L. 136
  5. Frédéric Chopin | "Barcarolle" · F sharp major Op. 60
  6. Frédéric Chopin | "Valse" · E minor B. 56

III round program

  1. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart | Piano Concerto No. 23 · A major KV 488