International Stasys Vainiūnas Competition for pianists

International Stasys Vainiūnas Competition for pianists

Ruslan Strogiy, Russian Federation

Participant data

Name of the educational insititution Sibelius Academy, Helsinki

Ruslan Strogiy (1992) was born in Estonia. Since 2011 he studied at the St. Petersburg State N. Rimskij-Korsakov Conservatory, the class of Oleg Vainshtein. Since 2016 the pianist has been studying at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki with the professor Erik T. Tawaststjerna. In 2012 Ruslan won the second prize at the Nordic Piano Competition in Malmö. In 2013 he took part in the tour in Island where he played together with St. Petersburg's cello ensemble. At the same year he played Concerto No. 1 by Pyotr Tchaikovsky together with the Symphony Orchestra by Algirdas Paulavičius in the Mariinsky Theatre Hall. The pianist has participated in masterclasses led by Jerome Rose, Graham Scott, Konstantin Bogino and Zhe Tang.


  1. Johann Sebastian Bach | Partita No. 2 · C minor · BWV 826
  2. Sergei Prokofiev | Piano Sonata No. 1 · F minor · op. 1
  3. Stasys Vainiūnas | "Fields Of Home" · Blooming Lily Of The Valley · op. 31


  1. Stasys Vainiūnas | Ballad · D minor · op. 30
  2. Maurice Ravel | "Gaspard de la nuit" · "Scarbo"
  3. Frederic Chopin | Polonaise No. 1 · C sharp minor · op. 26
  4. Frederic Chopin |
  5. Frederic Chopin | "Grand valse brillante No. 1" · E flat major · op. 18


  1. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart | Piano Concerto No. 23 · A major · KV 488