Meteorôs  Quintet

Meteorôs Quintet

| Norway

Piano Quintet (piano, 2 violins, viola and cello)

Lecturer | Are Sandbakken

"The Meteorôs Quintet" is a recently established chamber music ensemble based in Oslo, performing both as a piano quintet and a string quartet. The group consists of five master students from the Norwegian Academy of Music: Stepan Frolov (violin, Russia), Alexandr Guy (violin, France), Kai-Hsun Lin (viola, Taiwan), Johannes Borchgrevink (cello, Norway) ir Marina Kan (piano, Norway). The ensemble made their debut in 2016 whereas in 2017 they already won the first prize at the Academy's annual Chamber Music competition for master students. The group was then invited to perform at the Oslo Edward Grieg Festival. "The Meteorôs Quintet" receives regular lessons from Are Sandbakken, an appointed professor in chamber music at the Norwegian Academy of Music and a member of Oslo String Quartet.


  • Johannes Brahms | Piano Quintet · F minor · op. 34
  • Stasys Vainiūnas | Piano Quintet No. 1

  • Antonin Dvořák | Piano Quintet No. 2 · A major · op. 81
  • Dmitri Shostakovich | Piano Quintet · G minor · op. 57
  • Final